The inspiration of establishing the university was derived from The White Deer Grotto Academy in Mt. Lushan

1940: First founded as National Chung Cheng University

1949: Renamed National Nanchang University

1953: Renamed Jiangxi Teachers College

1983: Renamed Jiangxi Normal University

2003: Merged with Jiangxi Worker’s University of Finance (Jiangxi Banking School)